Broken Bicycle Horn or Hyperventilating Seal?

I want to be known as the person who dances in Movie theaters. If someone says, “you know Sarah, right?” and the other person stares blankly I hope the next words uttered are, “you know, the mom who always dances in movie theaters with her kids?” If a blank stare lingers, please let the next phrase be, “you know, the woman whose laugh sounds like a broken bicycle horn, like a hyperventilating seal?”

seal_gweeknss450

Everyone has fantastic character-defining quirks. I wish to be known for always encouraging acting silly when your soul craves it, like doing the robot in movie theaters if the credit-rolling music calls for it. I wish to be known for laughing loud and often with a raucous laugh that makes others laugh with the absurdity of its sound.

My most favorite overheard answers to the question, “you know Sarah, right?” have been:

  1. At church: she’s the one whose kids are always polite but their clothes never match.
  2. At Twinkle’s school: she’s the one who always says “thank you for making good choices” out loud to her kids.
  3. At my work: you know, person in grants who is a lot more approachable than she looks.

It’s interesting which parts of yourself people notice, and assume other people do as well. Do you have any you wish to be known for most?

About TT&NB

Wife, Mother, grant writer, professional do-gooder and friend
This entry was posted in I am a Strange Bird and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Broken Bicycle Horn or Hyperventilating Seal?

  1. Jan says:

    What an interesting question you pose at the end of the article……hummmmm………

    • TT&NB says:

      Jan, you know, the beautiful woman whose clothes and jewelry always match?… That is what I would imagine people’s surface-level take-away would be for you

  2. lindadyer573 says:

    You. Crack. Me. Up.
    Zany is full of zest. Snort-laughing must release jumbo endorphins in your brain. Children whose clothes always match might have big people making toooo many decisions for them. Affirming good choices — well, affirming positive things in general — is p-o-w-e-r-f-u-l. AND, approachable is attractive. You go, girl!
    As for me? If they said (after I take off the Groucho glasses), “Linda, you know… the one who peers deeply and really ‘sees’ you for who you are…,” I would be immensely satisfied. To know and to be known is my quest.

    • TT&NB says:

      My husband and I decided, long before having kids, that our only two major rules would be to say YES as much as possible, never to say no out of our own laziness (I dont want to clean up after you are done) or embarrassment (I wonder what people will say when she wears fireman boots to church… again) and that the kids would learn proper manners and respect from birth.

      I like yours, really seeing people is a trait many people want but few possess.

  3. Madelaine says:

    Oh my goodness! Impressive article dude! Thanks, However I am having difficulties with your RSS.
    I don’t know the reaso why I am unable to join it.
    Is there anyone else getting identical RSS issues? Anyone that knows the answer
    can you kindly respond? Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

