Unicorns and Rainbows

unicorn_pooping_a_rainbow_20px

I wish my week were so full of rainbow farting unicorns that I didn’t bother to write, my pupils dilating to the rhythmic dancing of fantastical light shows as my children gleefully take in sights and wonders too intense to transcribe with mere language. That would be a wonderful reason to take a full six days away from this space.

In truth Dave started a job that runs 10 am-6:30 pm for the next 5 weeks and is also rehearsing a play from 7 pm to 11 pm. We are reliant on childcare for the first time in our lives, and for transporters of our children, every day of the week. I am in the throes of the busiest two weeks of my life thus far at this job, with four competitive grant applications due, three of which were only open to invited guests, which increases both the likelihood of funding and the pressure to perform exceptionally. We are also hosting a large party on Saturday evening, a party we used as a donation for an auction, live theater with free babysitting in our home, which means cleaning cleaning cleaning.

And something bigger is happening, and that is where my heart is and where I am drawn to instead of the minutia of our busy lives. We are in the process of follow-ups and finding solutions and fortifying hope around something bigger than I can put on this blog, at least for now. In the meantime I will scrub guinea pig cages, wash toothpaste down sinks, kiss my gorgeous, brilliant husband as we pass each other in the hallway and remember that this month is our trial by fire, and April will bring peace.

About TT&NB

Wife, Mother, grant writer, professional do-gooder and friend
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Unicorns and Rainbows

  1. lindadyer573 says:

    Oooo, the suspense you’ve created…
    Hang in there! April will surely overtake March, in due time. Meanwhile, seize an opportunity to observe your stamina, resilience, and titanium strength love (that I’m confident will withstand a temperary burst of “busy”).

  2. penneyfox says:

    Somehow your post felt like home to me …. I totally know what it’s like to be crazy busy. Hang in there, you’ll get through itπŸ™‚

    • TT&NB says:

      Thanks… week one of being so busy I could cry is over, and somehow week two doesn’t feel as disastrous so I guess that means I am winning the war of perception at least?

      You hang in there, too, and I am seeking out recipes with you in mind!

      • penneyfox says:

        Some days I’m not sure if the total busy-ness is a good thing or just a distraction. I know that crying feeling all to well. I just out my head down and push through it and say all these affirmations like “I only time for positive energy”. For some reason that seems to work for me.

        How funny about the recipes! I’ve already had one blogger friend email me one to try. Maybe I should do a post about the recipes I get and make everyone, take pictures and let you know what my son thinks.πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

