I Wish it was the Truth

We don’t lie to our children, but when I asked our 39 pound six-year-old to give three vials of blood today I told her it wouldn’t hurt too much if she didn’t look at her arm. Perhaps my wishful thinking grew vocal cords. Now, sitting in my office an hour later I close my eyes and picture her tear filled eyes as she tells me that I was wrong, it does hurt when someone takes blood from your arm. I wasn’t lying to her; I was willing the situation to be different.

If only I could be the one with my arm getting poked and she could be the one rubbing my hair and promising me that it really is just a necessary pinch followed by Princess Sophia stickers and perhaps a toy from the dollar bin – that would have been much better.

terumo_butterfly

About TT&NB

Wife, Mother, grant writer, professional do-gooder and friend
Aside | This entry was posted in Twinkle Toes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I Wish it was the Truth

  1. My son has regular blood draws, so I understand how you are feeling.

  2. lindadyer573 says:

    This reminds me of Kahlil Gibran’s statement: “The deeper that sorrow carves into your being the more joy you can contain. Is not the cup that holds your wine the very cup that was burned in the potter’s oven?” The experience served to demonstrate just how deep your love for her is.

  3. Abdul says:

    Lie exists in different formats. Sometime we lie and think that it was okay to make logic; just avoid the trouble. As you did for your baby.You wanted her not to feel the pain but still it was a real lie. She found it sooner. I may not understand the level of your feelings. I’m not a mama.😦 I’m away from my mother and I can feel her love when she shows me different foods on webcam. No words, any more!🙂 Be Happy!🙂

Leave a Reply

