Wedding Camp

Their Save the Date card was an invitation to attend camp, a wedding camp, on a remote peninsula in Washington State. The picture wasn’t posed, a result of a professional photographer creating a snapshot of time to encapsulate their engagement. Instead it was the end of the hike they took when he announced that their forever should start now, with a commitment, a ring and a ceremony. His face in the photo, a man replacing the boyish charm I remember, was happy and full of life. He found her – he was always looking for the perfect complement to his existence, not the nearest route to changing who he was for the benefits of finding a forever. This invitation to a destination wedding was arresting in its perfect encapsulation of why their marriage is destined for greatness.

He and Dave were the best of friends when we lived Chicago. They met while cast in a Shakespeare show together, both new to the city, looking for a fresh start. He and Dave started a theatre together, one that changed who Dave was for the better and influences his life and choices to this day.

When Dave and I met, fell in love and decided to wed within moments of meeting this was the friend who scoped me out first, making sure I wasn’t a scary succubus or worse. He paced the hallways of the hospital when the birth of our daughter turned anxious and scary. When my pregnancy with Ninja became frantic and terrifying he was the one who held Dave together, held the company together, and prevented our world from collapsing around us as we tried to bring our littlest one into this world alive.

He lives thousands of miles away now, chasing a dream so beautiful and real my eyes flood with tears just thinking about it. I wish he lived around the corner so we could pace the halls when his beloved is laboring, or to hold his hand when he faces the inevitable tragedies we all face as we age. I’m not sure what place we hold in his life’s story, but in our story his role is sacred.

Looking at their picture, I am so grateful he found a ground breaking love that creates smiles emanating from his soul.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Once in a while, when I feel I’ve written a good piece, I link up with the talented writers over at Yeah Write. They host a weekly competition for writers who blog and bloggers who write. I’ve never won, although some weeks my entries don’t land in the bottom five, so I have that going for me, which is nice. Whether or not I do well I consistently find the quality of writing presented in the entries, as well as the interest the participants show in the writings of others, inspiring and thoughtful. If you are interested in reading great works please click the link and see what has inspired me to try harder.

About TT&NB

Wife, Mother, grant writer, professional do-gooder and friend
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Wedding Camp

  1. “Wedding Camp” sounds very unstuffy. I could get behind something like that.
    It’s hard when our dearest friends, so close to our hearts, are physically so far away.

    • TT&NB says:

      The husband to be is a forest ranger out there, and the least likely person I know to require tuxedos or other signs of grandeur at his wedding. That makes me want to be there so much… I can eat so much more, and more comfortably, when spanx aren’t involved in my wardrobe selection process!

      • Seems like it would be kid-friendly, too. Fresh air, wide open spaces, things to explore, dirt to play in, etc.

        • TT&NB says:

          We are contemplating how to travel economically with children… perhaps taking a few extra days and visiting some other northern states along the way, satisfying our ambition to take the kids on adventures in all of the states before they graduate high school.

  2. quinndien says:

    I love this: “He found her – he was always looking for the perfect complement to his existence, not the nearest route to changing who he was for the benefits of finding a forever.” I’ve been guilty of the latter on many occasions. What a sweet story!

    • TT&NB says:

      I have been guilty of that, too, and I find it so refreshing that he waiting until the real deal walked into his life to make the commitment of forever.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Marcy says:

    He sounds like a wonderful friend. I saw in the comments that you might make an adventure out of traveling to the wedding camp–sounds perfect!

    • TT&NB says:

      I think so, too. We love taking the kids on road trips, making a point to do something amazing and geographically specific in every state we pass along the way. Our kids have mostly been to the midwest and southeast states so far, so this would be mostly new territory to explore. Actually, it would be all new for me, too, which would be so fun and amazing in the fall.

  4. “He found her – he was always looking for the perfect complement to his existence, not the nearest route to changing who he was for the benefits of finding a forever.”

    This sentence is so beautiful I can’t stop reading it. How lucky for you to have someone who is so inextricably linked throughout the chain of your life.

  5. lindadyer573 says:

    It is so rich — and sometimes quite rare — to have a friendship of this caliber. May your trip planning be joyous.

    • TT&NB says:

      Thank you!! Right now we are stuck in the “figuring out how much time Dave can take off work and how much money we can save in eight months” stage of planning.

  6. mamarific says:

    What a special friend, and isn’t it wonderful when good things happen to good people?🙂

    • TT&NB says:

      It feels so lovely to see a happiness so loud it practically vibrates through the postcard nuptial announcement! The universe rights its axis when true loves find each other

  7. Erica M says:

    What a nice and kind and thoughtful blurb about the yeah write community at the end of your post. Thank you for explaining to your readers how our friendly competition works

  8. The line I liked best in your post was, “I’m not sure what place we hold in his life’s story, but in our story his role is sacred.” I have friends like that too, and I feel privileged, nay, blessed to have them in my life. I am sure this is going to be one wedding to remember.

  9. aishasoasis says:

    How wonderful to have experienced such a great friendship! Thanks for sharing!

  10. Jan says:

    Loved this…..on so many levels……glad he has found happiness!

  11. Linda Roy says:

    What a beautiful friendship and a beautiful piece of writing.

  12. Angela Ryan says:

    Very sweet — a beautiful post to honor beautiful relationships. I also like to add that I adored your little blurb on the bottom promoting yeah write. I feel just the same!

  13. Friendships are what make the world go round. I believe that wholeheartedly. I enjoyed the evolution of the relationship in this post…it makes me long for MORE friends!

Leave a Reply

