Happy Birthday Mom

When I moved 300 miles away from my parents fourteen years ago I wasn’t sure when or if I would return. I was itching for autonomy. Having completed the life phase where I decided my parents knew nothing and freshly entering into the phase of knowing I could rely on them for advice again, I felt drawn to distancing myself physically to ensure I would grow into myself as a person. I am so grateful I realized by age 18 that my parents actually were very smart and kind, by 19 that I could always count on them and by 20 that I could exist simultaneously as their daughter and as my own independent being.

Tomorrow my Mom celebrates her birthday. My children will be at her house for a sleepover, enjoying freedom from their own mother by embracing time with their grandma. They worked on her gifts and cards this week, preparing to dazzle Grandma into seeing just how much love they can squeeze out through paints and Elmer’s glue.

My Mom purchased play tickets for Dave and I for our birthdays, paired them with overnight babysitting, to be payable on her own birthday. The love of a Mother is indefatigable—she always puts her girls first. It takes around 27 seconds for me to find 10 selfless choices my parents made when we were kids. Choice doesn’t even feel like the right word, that implies that they considered options other than making their children’s needs and wants the priorities of their lives. The lives of everyone in my family, my children and myself, are shaped by this in countless ways.

Happy birthday Mom—I am the woman, wife and mother I am because of the person you are and the choices you made in our childhood. Thank you.

83321

About TT&NB

Wife, Mother, grant writer, professional do-gooder and friend
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Happy Birthday Mom

  1. mom says:

    thanks sarah!!!

  2. Janet says:

    What a beautiful tribute to a wonderful woman, Sarah. 🙂

  3. Louise says:

    Ah! What a beautiful post – and tribute – to your mom. I totally agree – looking back, I can see all that was done for me, and hope I can give the same to my kids. And, if I’m still being a wee-bit daughter self-interested, I appreciated my mother all the MORE now that she’s gone for a month. We’ve tried to find babysitting a few times and – wow – I’m appreciative of everything she does….

    I also wanted to let you know I nominated you for a Sunshine Award. Don’t know if you “do” these – but just my way of saying I enjoy your blog. Post is here: http://babygatesdown.wordpress.com/2014/01/18/awards-awards-awards/.

    • TT&NB says:

      Thank you! I need to respond, I was nominated for a couple of awards and unfortunately never responded to any of them. I really should get on the ball

      • Louise says:

        Don’t feel pressured if you don’t “do” awards – you’ll see from my post that I waited a while to decide to respond to some as well. It’s just my way of saying I enjoy your blog🙂

  4. lindadyer573 says:

    How could your mother not help but feel honored and esteemed by your words. Way to go! (And don’t be surprised when one day, your children replicate this behavior toward you…)

Leave a Reply

