Blogging

When I started this blog I promised myself I would write at least one post a week for two months and see how I felt about making it a longer-term part of my life. Now that I’ve written for two months, and have a least a handful of you reading, I am compelled to continue. Now is a good time to sign up for email updates when I post (you can do that through my sidebar) so I know who is regularly reading! I sound needy, I know, but watching my number of subscribers grow is validating and pushes me to write often and well.

The negatives of writing the blog are definitely time-related, I rarely have down time between waking up the kids in the morning and getting them to bed twelve hours later. However, when I go for a run from 5am to 6am and quickly shower afterward I have a beautiful and peaceful hour to myself. I sip on my coffee while reviewing my drafts to find a post to publish. This hour is the only time of the day I spend by myself without a boss or child or husband’s needs driving my movements and choices. I like spending time with myself in quiet reflection– this blog facilitates that process and gives shape to my “me time”.

So for now I will continue to write, finding freedom in my Friday posts, familial bonding in my Monday posts and reflective understanding through my Wednesday posts. And if you like it, let me know, ok? I may be able to dance like a fool in public without embarrassment, but throwing my writing into the universe is a whole other level of vulnerability.

About TT&NB

Wife, Mother, grant writer, professional do-gooder and friend
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blogging

  1. Janet says:

    It is an incredible level of vulnerability, and I admire you for it, to be sure! I enjoy and reflect upon your words. Sometimes you have moved me to tears, and other times made me laugh. The time I’ve spent reading your writing has been well spent time. It makes me feel I should do the same.

Leave a Reply

