Epcot’s Captain EO

Feel the glory of 1988

Feel the glory of 1988

In honor of Michael Jackson’s passing in 2009 Disney re-launched Captain EO at Epcot, a sci-fi fantasy thriller staring the one and only MJ and condensing everything magical about eighties culture into 18 minutes of awesome. On the second day of our trip to Disney World our family donned 3-D glasses, sat exactly in the middle of the theater, and prepared for what would become a favorite moment.

My affinity for eighties culture, hair and dancing borders on freaky. If I could I would wear my hair in a shortish pixie cut, gelled on an angle to show off hot pink blush going straight down my cheek bones for dramatic effect. I still own leg warmers and the music fills my soul, making me want to move. In eighth grade (1994) a bunch of girls tried to make me feel bad by announcing White Snake was my favorite band. I pretended to be offended, then rocked out alone in my room later that night to the sweet sounds of Here I go Again.

Captain EO defied all expectations. It was magic. From his elephant-like alien companion that sneezed (with water sprayed on us for realism) to the 3-D effects (Ninja: Mom! If I try really hard I can totally catch that snuggly small alien), the show was amazing from minute 1. Michael… I’m Sorry “Captain EO”, goes to an evil planet. He uses the power of dance moves, pelvic thrusts and singing to break through the evil queen’s heart and turn her land into a place of happiness.

My kids LOVED this show more than any other show in Disney. As soon as we walked out Ninja called, “Mommy Mommy Mommy MOOOOOOMY MOM!” I replied, “Yes Ninja?” His response was perfection–

Did you know Dancing and music fix stuff? I have idea, mom, everyone should dance more so they can be happy! I start it, Ma.

He proceeded to dance-walk for the rest of vacation, whenever he remembered, no matter how tired. There was even an event with a rascally chipmunk in space gear where Ninja made us the center of a soon-to-be enormous circle of dancers, humans and characters alike, doing the gangam in Future World.

Sometimes you just have to let it all hang out... When you are in your mid thirties with small children sometimes that means letting the support garments show

Sometimes you just have to let it all hang out… When you are in your mid thirties with small children sometimes that means letting the support garments show

This is a real photo of our family. I like to dance and sometimes that means that my chaffing prevention shorts peek out. I like to think that if someone wrote a jam everyone could get down to we would all be so busy bustin’ a move that we could forget our differences and hold hands. Sort of like “we are the world” except with a lot less pictures of devastation and more flash dancing. Sometimes Michael Jackson can moonwalk the evil right out of a dastard empire, inspiring children of all ages to bust a move for peace and harmony. And seriously, have you ever not smiled when a 4 year old tries to be taken seriously while dancing?

Why yes, I do believe in "go Big or Go Home" applies to all things Disney World

Why yes, I do believe in “go Big or Go Home” applies to all things Disney World. Ninja’s face is blurred per Not-Kirk’s agreement, but you can still see his mad skills

About TT&NB

Wife, Mother, grant writer, professional do-gooder and friend
This entry was posted in Disney World and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Epcot’s Captain EO

  1. Maggie says:

    These pics are adorable!!!! Hopefully in 30 years your kids will look at them and remember what an awesome mom they have.

  2. Stacie says:

    Love the 80s and MJ. My college roommate and I used to rock out to MJ all the time – our getting ready for parties music (I’m older than you). Your dance photos are awesome!

    • TT&NB says:

      MJ is the best music to listen to while getting ready to party! I went to college in 2000 and we still listened to him more than current music

  3. I love the line, “Sometimes Michael Jackson can moonwalk the evil right out of a dastard empire…” The photos are great and I love that you had so much fun! Dance on!

  4. Christina says:

    A.DORABLE! I love that I’m still smiling while commenting. Thank you.

  5. I love Ninja’s enthusiasm. This really made me smile.

  6. We noticed that Captain EO had made a return but didn’t get a chance to see it when we were there recently. Glad you guys had a great time rockin’ out with MJ!

  7. Love this. Laughed out loud. So, from one 80s fan to another….THE WAY YOU MAKE ME FEEL like dancing….I just want to ROCK WITH YOU, but ANOTHER PART OF ME doesn’t WANNA BE STARTIN’ SOMETHIN’…because it’s late and that would be BAD😉

  8. dorothyadele says:

    I like that he danced walked the rest of the trip. It sounds like you had a great time.

  9. Here I go again on my own. Going down the only road I’ve ever known!! Like a drifter I was born to walk alone. Must find this song. Now.

  10. Anyone who will dance walk is ok…
    And he’s right music and dance can fix stuff.. if we’d only let it..

  11. Louise says:

    I love this post! It so made me smile. I def. think dancing and music can make the world a better place. I dance with my 3 and 1 yr old daughters all the time – we have dance parties after dinner – and at camping last week we had little dance parties by the campfire and got my friends little 2 year old son joining in.

    I also love me some White Snake and MJ’s Bad was the second “rock” album I ever owned (the first being Whitney Houston’s I Wanna Dance with Somebody – so I suppose it depends on your definition of rock….). All that to say – really enjoyed this.

  12. Haha this is great, I love your captions for the photos. Nothing is better than dancing with your kids and seeing the smiles on their faces!

  13. Awesome! I went to Tokyo Disneyland recently and saw the EO thing, but I never went in. Maybe I’ll check it out if I go again! Cheers!

  14. mistyslaws says:

    Cute! We recently returned from Disney, but didn’t go to this show. I think I remember it from the 80’s though. My kids are not impressed with MJ, so I fear it would have been a bust. Or maybe, he would have turned them as well, thus creating moonwalking Billie Jean fans for life. I guess we’ll never know!

  15. nataliedeyoung says:

    You know, I’ve never seen Captain EO…I know, I know, it’s almost un-American.

  16. dberonilla says:

    I love me a post that highlights the eternal wisdom of children. Major bonus points for also including a picture of your underoos! This is my kind of post!😉

  17. Pingback: Liebster Award– I Finally Respond | Twinkle Toes and Ninja Boy

Leave a Reply

