Wacky Wednesday- The Day I Met My Husband

My husband and I are in an especially shmoopy place in our marriage right now. He makes me melt, always has and I hope will continue to do so until we are old and gray. We don’t always get along, but we always want to make out. I think that saves us from fighting about the small stuff sometimes– looking at his dimples and watching him run his hands through his gorgeous curly hair turns the heat of the argument into a different kind of heat, if you know what I mean.  This wacky Wednesday post is from the day after I met my husband. It’s funny because I wrote the first post at 3am when I came home and exclaim that I am going to take it slow and just have fun. The next post was written at 6pm that day, a mere 15 hours after returning home from our date. Two days after I wrote this he and I were engaged to be wed, setting our date for the wedding and booking a hall for the reception before we knew each other for two full weeks. Sometimes the universe has the best plans for us, regardless of our own feelings on the matter.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Best first date ever; never thought a date could be this awesome.  We went to dinner, then saw Mice and Men at the Victory Gardens Theater, then went to get coffee and proceeded to talk for three hours about everything.  In the course of our 8 hour date he asked me out for two more occasions, the first is concretely set for Sunday, the Second is for sometime next week.  And the kiss goodnight?  The only first kiss I have ever had where there was no awkwardness, just tinglies (partially because I was standing in nearly a foot of snow, but still).  I’m gonna take it slow this time, on all accounts.  He asked me to go out tomorrow but I have plans with T so I said no.  As for Sunday, I am super stoked about it.  We are going to see a movie and then watch football at his place… This wasn’t meant to be a detailed reenactment, it just turned out that way.  Long story short, I realized that there are single, attractive, intelligent, extreme liberal men out there that find my body, mind, and everything else more than good enough.  AND I realized I can just relax and enjoy, I had no weird thoughts or feelings playing in the back of my head, I just had fun.  Aw, I am so happy right now

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Later that day I wrote another entry, here it is. I called it Can This Be Real?

God I hope so.  I just spent an hour on the phone with Not Kirk. I hate the phone with a passion, but we had this amazing conversation.  I guess since we talked for a few months before we met in person it really isn’t rushing things to be this head over feet… I’m trying not to analyze this too much, but I totally am.  While we were on the phone he asked me what my protocol for boyfriends is, IE how long do I wait before I go from dating around to dating one person to monogamy.  Well, I told him I didn’t want to rush and he was so sweet, he just said “I’m not going to date anyone else, I couldn’t.  You can do what you need to do to get where I already am with you, but I know I am not going to date anyone else”.  I want to call his bullshit, tell him I know he doesn’t mean it because we have only known each other for a couple of months, only met once.  But, for the first time in forever, I don’t think it is bullshit.  The way we talk, the honesty, the comfortableness, it all built up over the last couple of months and when we met in person it was like we were already old friends.  Plus he is a great kisser, that has nothing to do with anything, but still.

Geeze, I can’t stop smiling, I can’t stop being goofy.  I like this, though.  It feels so good to have someone say I am amazing and have myself honestly believe that they mean it.  Damn, I am so annoying right now, I need a cold shower or something. Tomorrow we are going out again, and Wednesday he is meeting me at my office for lunch, and next Friday he is taking me to another play…. So I guess i am rushing right in.  That will make four dates in one week, I didn’t even do that with my last two boyfriends.  I need to stop thinking about it, get my head straight, get some work done, and go out tonight and just have fun.  Wow, sorry this was so long, over-dramatic, and annoying.

++++++++++++++++++++

It has been over eight years since I wrote this and I can say that I still have many days where I can’t stop smiling and being goofy just because I am with the love of my life.

Wacky Wednesday posts are good for me, I think I know what I want to do tonight when the kids go to sleep😉

About TT&NB

Wife, Mother, grant writer, professional do-gooder and friend
This entry was posted in Wacky Wednesday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

